В приватном чате Telegram можно удалять любые сообщения — даже чужие

Только что в канале Павла Дурова появилась новость о том, что теперь, в любом приватном чате мессенджера, можно бесследно удалять любые сообщени. И не как раньше, только отправленные лично вами и только в течении двух суток — но и чужие тоже, без всяких ограничений.



Оригинальный текст сообщенияIt’s been 23 years since I first used a private messaging service, and 16 years since I first built my own. The number of electronic private conversations I’ve had over those years is enormous. I am certain this is also the case for you.

Over the last 10-20 years, each of us exchanged millions of messages with thousands of people. Most of those communication logs are stored somewhere in other people’s inboxes, outside of our reach. Relationships start and end, but messaging history with ex-friends and ex-colleagues remains available forever.

It’s getting worse. Within the next few decades, the volume of our private data stored by our chat partners will easily quadruple.

An old message you already forgot about can be taken out of context and used against you decades later. A hasty text you sent to a girlfriend in school can come haunt you in 2030 when you decide to run for mayor. We have to admit: despite all of our progress in encryption and privacy, we have very little actual control of our data. We can’t go back in time and erase things for other people.

Well, we couldn’t. Until today. Today we allowed every user to delete any message in a private conversation from both sides. It doesn’t matter who sent the message and when – you have complete control over it. You can even wipe out the whole conversation from both sides if you want to. No trace will be left on any side.

We know some people may get concerned about the potential misuse of this feature or the permanence of their inboxes. We thought carefully through those issues, but we think the benefit of having control over your digital footprint is more important.

Looking through my Telegram inbox now, there’s not much I would want to delete for both sides. And yet, somehow for the first time in 23 years of private messaging, I feel truly free and in control.
Taking Back Our Right to Privacy
Today, we are giving hundreds of millions of users complete control of any private conversation they have ever had. You can now choose to delete any m…
Страница, на которой анонсируется эта возможность: Taking Back Our Right to Privacy

Если отбросить лирику, то Павел решил, что контроль над своей цифровой историей важнее, чем те неприятные последствия, которые может повлечь эта функция.

Кроме того, появилась дополнительная возможность сохранить свою приватность в переписке: «анонимизация» отправки сообщений. При включении это опции, сообщения уже не будут содержать ссылку на ваш аккаунт в поле «From», таким образом нельзя будет однозначно связать текст сообщения с вашей личностью.
Активировать ее можно в разделе «Forwarded messages» настроек «Privacy and Security».

Неоднозначное решение, которое не всем может понравиться, потому что теперь человек может удалить любое сообщение, как свое, так и чужое. Обидевшись, ваш собеседник может полностью обнулить все историю переписки приватного чата, без вашего ведома. Но, в то же время, это дает людям уверенность в том, что они по настоящему контролируют ситуацию и сказанное в запале слово, легкомысленно отправленная фотография — уже не будут висеть над ними Дамокловым мечом и угрожать их будущему.

Еще раз стоит заметить, что это касается только и исключительно приватных чатов. В открытых диалогах этой возможности не будет.

Оставить комментарий